head shimming

smoked

hello guys, ive had my R for two years now but im new to the OC.

shimmed my head today from cold and these are my results

inlet
cam lobe 1. both 0.20
cam lobe 2. shim 0.20 rocker guide 0.25
cam lobe 3. both 0.15
cam lobe 4. both 0.20

exhaust
cam lobe 1. shim 0.25 rocker guide 0.20
cam lobe 2. both 0.20
cam lobe 3. both 0.20
cam lobe 4. shim 0.16 rocker guide 0.20

from these values would it make the head noisey i know they are all supposed to be 0.14 to 0.17 cold?? is it worth altering them them? the head has become louder in my ownership.

is there any way to get the shims out without taking the cams off so i can micrometer them up and get the differences to get the replacements?

cheers guys

Last edited:
hi..
Can you help me with a pics tutorial to meausure shims adjustament??
all passages
thanks a lot
attend your reply
bye

olliecast

smoked said:
hello guys, ive had my R for two years now but im new to the OC.

shimmed my head today from cold and these are my results

inlet
cam lobe 1. both 0.20
cam lobe 2. shim 0.20 rocker guide 0.25
cam lobe 3. both 0.15
cam lobe 4. both 0.20

exhaust
cam lobe 1. shim 0.25 rocker guide 0.20
cam lobe 2. both 0.20
cam lobe 3. both 0.20
cam lobe 4. shim 0.16 rocker guide 0.20

from these values would it make the head noisey i know they are all supposed to be 0.14 to 0.17 cold?? is it worth altering them them? the head has become louder in my ownership.

is there any way to get the shims out without taking the cams off so i can micrometer them up and get the differences to get the replacements?

cheers guys
very similar values to mine yesterday. i had to do at least .05 on most but there was .10 required on others. mine is alot quieter now. i took some pics with me phone so i`ll post them up.