Jacking for engine removal...

C

cybermorph

Hi, the day has come where my 'reliable' pulsar became un-reliable and blew up on me. So i am now faced with an engine strip. Im not too concerned about the engine strip as i am a Motorcycle Technician ( ok... motorcycle mechanic ) and have rebuilt many bike motors. But the engine removal i am hoping looks worse than it is???! First things first, how am i best to jack and support the car off the ground for engine removal? Also, once the engine is removed is there anything i should replace that i would find difficult to with engine in place? if you get what i mean? im knackered, :yawn:

Mr GTiR

I take it you not using a ramp then?

If not put the axle stands under the lower wish bone arms. I use the front cross member (tubular bar at the front of the engine) for jacking up the car. You'll find a metal square about 2" big, just use a thick piece of wood on the jack.

Once the engine is out i would replace all your water hoses as they have a habbit of going brittle over the years and they tend to leak! Also, get your starter motor out and get it reconditioned as the bushes and contacts will have signs of wear. Unless you have a problem with your DET sensor just leave it.

Something else to look at is removing all the intercooler brackets if you have a front mount. If not ignor this bit.

This is the bracket in question:
http://www.gtiroc.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=1228&c=50

Look how much more room you have once it's removed:
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v326/andychan/Rebuild/?action=view&current=Enginebuild041.jpg

Engine removal guide can be found here:
http://www.gtiroc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44969

Last edited:
C

cybermorph

Hey thanks for that... looking on the forum i see that some people seem to lift the front of the car up with engine all unbolted and then drag the engine out from underneath? Is this easier than just lifting the engine out with a hoist?

Mr GTiR

cybermorph said: