Det sensor or Turbo replace

PulsarLee

Guys,

Looking for some advise, my R feels flat and has a slight backfire at low revs when changing gear. Also smokes on over-run and when changing gear. Showing code 34 too.:(

The car seems to hold boost well though and shows a constant 0.7 - 1 bar when on my boost gauge depending on what I set it at. Is it usual for the boost still to show even when the turbo is obviously letting oil past the journal bearings?? Also, couild this make the code 34 show?

Im not sure weather to replace the det sensor first of the recon tubby?? any ideas / suggestions?

And last but not least :-D what turbo options are there that are a direct bolt on with no modifications needed??

Thanks guys

Lee

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
It's a lot cheaper to do a DET sensor than a turbo.

If you're going to run anything other than a standard turbo you'd probably need to get it remapped. - I'm not an expert, but I'd guess you could get away with most of the T28 frame turbos at a push; as long as they flow a similar volume of air and a similar pressure.

Is it definitely the turbo? I get a backfire on gear change and lately mine had been feeling a bit flat, but there's definitely no smoke coming out of it; I figured I've got a boost leak somewhere because it's fine until it makes positive pressure (and it's worse when it's warm).

johnny gtir

i use a garret ie gt2871rs brilliant turbo fast spool up supposed to flow 440 but mine will be 400 no more. super responsive ideal if you just want a upgrade on the standard turbo bolts straight on and is roller bearing

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
I get a backfire on gear change and lately mine had been feeling a bit flat, but there's definitely no smoke coming out of it; I figured I've got a boost leak somewhere because it's fine until it makes positive pressure (and it's worse when it's warm).
So I re-did all my vacuum lines... and it wasn't much better.
What do I find when I do the fault code test?
:doh: