wheel size for racing

bernieGTIR

Ok I’m a bit new to the gtir so not too sure what wheels to go for.

I will be doing sprints and hill climbs with the odd track day. I was thinking about going 16's with 225 45 tyres but not too sure if that the right way to go.
so list what you use and why

thanks bernie :-D

Last edited:

olliecast

Hi Bernie and welcome,
I`m using 15" wheels at the moment with wilwood brakes under (only just clear)

Because i`m only doing sprints and hillclimbs it doesn`t really give chance for repeat use of the brakes over long periods of time. If i were to do trackdays, i would`ve gone for a 16" wheel with the larger (330mm iirc) disc setup to handle to heat better.

Cheers,
ollie

bernieGTIR

Thanks m8.
What size tyres do you use with the 15's and what J are they (7J etc) and do you know if 16" by 8J will fit with 225 40 16's tyres

Last edited:

olliecast

I think they're 195 50 15's but when I get my toyo's for next year I might go for 45's.

I'll check on the speed ratings later

Tk1

i run 7x 15's with 195 50 yoko parada spec 2's (list 1a tyres for road going) find them better than the toyo t1r , i also use 285 wilwood 4 pots

dencon

I,ve tried 15" and 17" wheels but find 15" by far the best for sprinting and hillclimbing. I use Toyo 888 sg compound, 205 x 50 x 15 which is a
1b tyre. Being fully modified I now use Avon slicks, but again using 71/2" x 15" x 28et wheels. Rota Slipstreams. cheers den.

Jon Olds

Rally with 16's and 17's. Prob going to downsize the front brakes and try 15's. BUT, and its a big but, I'm worried about the front brakes overheating on 10+ mile stages....

fubar andy

Moderator & N/W Rep
Staff member
16"x7" ET35 with 6POT 304mmx28mm discs for track use.

I have used 225mm tyres, but I'm not that keen on it.

bernieGTIR

thanks for the info i will prob go 7 by16's with 225 45 R888.