What Head Gasket ???

stevepudney

GTiROC CHAIRMAN
Staff member
If you have replaced your Head Gasket for a steal one, what thickness have you used. 1,2mm is standard thickness.

I have the option of using a 1mm or 1.4mm, I have no intension of running huge boost, probally maxed out at 1.5 bar, and only lookig for 380 - 400 bhp with Power FC, AVCR, GTRS Turbo, Forged Pistons and bigger injectors.

I was thinking of using the 1mm to get better off boost responce which would make it a better street car but I would loose out top end as the timing will be knocked back a few degrees after 5500 - 6000rpm to compensate for the extra compression.

Not sure what to do, any advice guys

Mr GTiR

Steve, i'm not an expert on CR but i've just slung a 1.2mm steel H/G in to keep the CR pretty stock. I'm also aiming for 400bhp and have been advsed that this set up is fine for a road car. Don't know if this helps.....

A

Anonymous

stevepudney said:
I was thinking of using the 1mm to get better off boost responce which would make it a better street car but I would loose out top end as the timing will be knocked back a few degrees after 5500 - 6000rpm to compensate for the extra compression.
if you go for the 1mm gasket,why would you lose out at the top end :?:

you'll not need to retard the timing if your larger injectors can supply the required fuel for the boost level you intend to run.

another reason to possibly go for the 1.4mm gasket instead of the 1mm gasket is greater inherent strength and longevity as well as the option for greater boost :twisted:

stevepudney

GTiROC CHAIRMAN
Staff member
I've been told (by the reinstated God) that for a street car I'd be better off with a 1mm gasket as I'd get a car that was much more responsive off boost, thus spooling would be quicker e.t.c. e.t.c. BUT because of the higher comp ratio I might have to edit the ignition map on top end rpm to retard a bit, but only a couple of degrees.

GINGA

iirc the standard gasket is 1.4mm thick :?: