What do you think of labour time??? *Please read*

A

Az

Hey all, would like to ask your expert :D advise on something. I have just got my car back from garage where I had some work done. Tell me what you think of the labour times....

* Fit new Walbro Fuel Pump (as supplied by purplemonster :) ) = 1 1/2 hours

* Replace front and rear discs & pads = 3 hours

* Fit new oil filter and replace oil = 1/4 hour

* Flush & replace brake fluid = 1/4 hour

* Flush & replace gearbox and coolant = 1/4 hour

* Check & clean spark plugs = 1/2 hour

* Compression test = 1/4 hour

TOTAL = 6 hours

I'm told they also replaced a CV gaitor and welded up the exhaust which is not listed.

Do you think this timescale is realistic?

It's just it was a bit more than I was expecting, especially on the fuel pump and fitting of front and rear brakes discs & pads.

I'm told the fuel pump was not straight forward as it wasn't the same, so wires had to be cut and pipes replaced etc etc. I'm no expert so I'd like your thoughts please...

If you think it is about right, i'll calm down 8) if you think it's a bit excessive I'll go :evil: :x Cheers 8)

L

LoXy

I think the fuel pump will come close to an hour. but the discs and pads could be done 1 hour to 1.1/2 hour.

others are pretty reasonable.

mattygti-r

fuel pump is id say 50mins job and yes u have to snip wires etc, 90mins is a bit of micky take

the other things like removing i.c to do plugs in 30mins etc seems ok,

but the fuel pump id quibble about

and if they have done work on the R like the exhuast etc, take a look, prb just b/s you,

u also want receipt to show/prove that this has been done

GINGA

The changing of the discs and pads seems alittle excessive but the rest seems ok and you probably got a pretty good deal if they changed your cv boot and welded your exhaust aswell :wink:
As for fitting the fuel pump in 50 mins I'd like to see someone do that if they've never done it before :roll:

paz