Start Problem ..

Paul

This is going to be a bit of a long read but i'm at my wits end now!

I recently fitted an engine to my rolling shell that I bought and whatever I do it will not fire up.

It has new plugs, new dizzy cap and standard ht leads. There is enough petrol in it and as far as I can see everything seems to be connected properly. I just recently fitted new engine and battery looms bought from bobby and still no joy.

It seems to be that the fuel pump is not getting and power so when i go to start up you can hear the start motor going and the engine almost turning over. I have tried connecting a battery to the fuel pumps power supply and as soon as I do it starts pumping away, I then go to the engine bay and can here and feel the fuel pump through the pipes. Again, i try to start it and no joy!

I'm only an amateur mechanic at best so don't know what else I can do to try and sort this problem out. I have had the car at my cousins garage and he couldn't get it to start either.

It is a standard engine from a pulsar, the wiring loom is from a pulsar and the ecu is a standard uk one.

Any help would be appreciated..

Cheers,

P

pulsarboby

first things first
check to see whether you have fuel at the rail when ignition is turned on if not then run a 12v feed to liven the pump then see if you have fuel there then

have you got a spark at the plugs....if not then you may have the reverse light wired into the ignition circuit....i think its either the dizzy or coil is the exact same plug as reverse light and a mistake made by a few people now.

im not saying any more yet in order not to over complicate things but find out whats what with regard to fuel and spark then report back paul lol

Paul