Unknown/unconnected item in engine bay??

Hardy172cup

Hi.
im looking to buy a Gti-R and when browsing through the images of one that I'm looking to buy I noticed something sticking up in the engine bay that is not connected to anything

Can anyone here shed any light on what this unknown connection is?

The car looks to be in good condition and relatively standard I just have no clue what the thing sticking up could be. I'm no mechanic and I have never owned an R before so I need some help and advice on what it could be.

I have circled the unknown pipe/connection in red.

Thanks for any help,
Bill.

[/URL][/IMG]

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
Hard to tell. - I'd take a punt that it's part of the original boost control system; does the listing claim it's got some kind of after-market boost control?

I don't have anything there:

Hardy172cup

Thanks for your reply.
the car does not claim to have any boost control system, it claims to be an unmolested example with just a few small mods like exhaust, suspension, wheels and it does have an HKS turbo timer.

If it is the reminents of an old boost control device that does worry me because I don't want the car to have been running silly boost in the past with no other modifications to help cope with the extra boost.

Cheers,
Bill

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
Depends what you call silly. They tend to run rich on boost so can cope with quite a boost increase before going pop.

Hardy172cup

My dilemma is im looking at two cars at the moment.

The first one is this one from the picture, the main selling point is that the car is an unmolested example with just a few sensible mods such as after market suspension, big air filter, exhaust system(not to noisey), 17" wheels (which are ugly) and HKS turbo timer. I really like the idea of the car being close to standard.