Oil pressure on starting??

A

Anonymous

:roll:

Helloooo,

Wonder if any one could help me as im new to both this site and my Pulsar!? Is it normal, or's something up, but when starting my car the oil pressure warning light comes on for the first few seconds and the car sounds really noisy. Almost like a deisel!! This noise doesnt fade away it will just disapere after a few seconds. Is this because there is no oil in the oil pump or what?

Any help would be most gratefull.

Thanks,

A new Pulsar owner!!

J

J-GTi-R

That horrible rattle is the cam chain. What happens is the chain dries out as the car sits with the engine off, and needs to spin a few times on start-up to lube up again (also the tensioners are hydraulic so need oil pressure to take up any slack). Perfectly normal, and yes I was worried too for about the first three months of ownership...

A

Anonymous

Thanks J

Ye was a littel worried bout the noise, I should be able to rest a little now!

J

J-GTi-R

The thing is it's the same noise as you get if the big end bearings are about to die, so for three months I was pooing myself thinking I'd bought a lemon on it's last legs. Then someone told me it was just cam chain rattle and I almost melted with relief... :roll:

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
What does the oil pressure guage read at this point? My pressure build straight away and the engine is pretty quiet. Maybe you have abit of wear and it just needs the few seconds to build the pressure.

A

Anonymous

The oil pressure guage increases staedily until it gets to about the middle of the guage. This only takes a couple of seconds from start up. Once it reaches the middle the noise dissapears straight away!?

E

Edd

Well when mine was working properly....
i used to get 6 on the guage on startup, then 4 once warmed up and crusing, then between 2-4 on idle.