Cylinderhead removal

T

tobbe_n

hello im pretty new this kind of car'sand have som quistions.
im not very good at english byt i hope ypu can help my any way

i need to know what tools and parts i might need to remov my cylinder head at my nissan pulsar gti-r

any thing i need to specialy carefull whit when removing like the tensioner for the timingchain and so on ?

have orderd new bolts and a headgasket.
that's the things i can get a hand on here in sweden.
the car i's bought in england
2006-12-19 problably
the problem is exahaust gases that are way of for strret usage in sweden it dosn't burn all the fuel and run's porly...

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
tobbe_n said:
the problem is exahaust gases that are way of for strret usage in sweden it dosn't burn all the fuel and run's porly...
You mean it's running rich?

Why are you taking the head off?

Have you done a fault code check?

You may have a problem with the AFM.

T

tobbe_n

it's running whit 1,2 i lambda
and have a compression loss on cylinder 4
all other have very big differnce
1: 10
2:9
3:9
4:7

no fault codes in the system found. :(
have recently changed sparkplugs
rotor
distrubutor cap and the car runns better but the compressionloss is my main problem now..
the old owner told me the car has miss fired and run porly a long time..

GINGA

Sounds like the piston ring lands have given way, you will not see this with the head removed, you will need to remove the pistons from the block to check them. Could also be a burnt valve but low compression is normally the ring lands gone.
Theres no special tools required to remove the cylinder head, the head bolts are a 10mm allen key type socket and the tensioner is just held in by 2 10mm nuts.

Last edited:
T

tobbe_n

that's what i thought to. but i need to 100% sure that it's the rings before i order them thats why i wanted to remove the head. but if there is an easyer way to se if it's the piston rings i'm very happy.