sticky injector

nitrosgti-r

whats the best way to fix one? Im gonna try a bit of redex and then take an injector plug off the car and swing it over and see what happens, anyone advice against this? Or, any help at all??

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
Try something like acetone? It's dipolar and aprotic!

Sorry; I'm a chemist.
The advantage of it is that it's dipolar so it works with water... which is polar, but aprotic so it doesn't hydrogen bond... and it will work with organics (like petrol)... which means it will dissolve quite a few things that might be gunking-up an injector (and it's a really good way to 'dry' something because it pulls the water off, then evaporates away - it will also work as an emulsifier). Plus it's a small molecule so it's volatile (and evaporates off quickly), and it's combustible (so if it's gets into the cylinders it won't do any damage).
As long as the injectors aren't made of acrylic (poly-methylmethacrylate) the acetone won't damage them so you loose nothing if it doesn't work.

Next step would be to give them a bath in a mild solvent and ultrasonic them... but most people don't have an ultrasonic bath they can use.

Last edited:

nitrosgti-r

Hi mate, thanks for the reply and your help. Would methenol work as i have some in the garage. If not, where could i get acetone from? im guessing halfords wouldnt sell it??

P

pulsarboby

nail varnish remover is acetone, i know that for when i take my nail varnish off every night lol

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
Yeah even tesco will sell cheap nail polish remover that will do the job; you don't need fancy fragrance, nor "added nail protection".
The methanol would probably work, but not as good as acetone; the methanol is dipolar and protic (that alcohol group lets it hydrogen bond, so you can end-up with methylated crap instead).

Acetone is blood great stuff, and quite overlooked.

P

pulsarboby

:wuss:haha im out the closet now:lol::lol: