Fun at oulton park(kind of)

MarkTurbo

I've been doing trackdays for about 7 years now and my engine has done 132,000 miles and never been rebuilt, like others have said cooling is the main issue and an oil cooler is needed 100% ;-)

I'm running a standard turbo at its limit so probably around 320/330 bhp. I've got a uk spec radiator (thicker than the standard jap one) and a 19 row oil cooler and oil temps rarely go above 100 degrees even in a 20 min session.

I only ever use mobil 1 motorsport 15/50 oil in my engine too, yeah its expensive but not compared to an engine rebuild ;-)

steve963

I've been doing trackdays for about 7 years now and my engine has done 132,000 miles and never been rebuilt, like others have said cooling is the main issue and an oil cooler is needed 100% ;-)

I'm running a standard turbo at its limit so probably around 320/330 bhp. I've got a uk spec radiator (thicker than the standard jap one) and a 19 row oil cooler and oil temps rarely go above 100 degrees even in a 20 min session.

I only ever use mobil 1 motorsport 15/50 oil in my engine too, yeah its expensive but not compared to an engine rebuild ;-)
good lad

bob the builder

well only 2 sleeps left till i can found out whats gone wrong. hopefully nothing too bad, and easy to fix.
might be in touch soon Bob for some spares,hopefully not a new engine,lmao.oh and a oil cooler

red reading

I use mobil 1 15/50 oil (very highly rated oil) as it is what it says, Castrol was sued by the US goverment for lying about there oil (they were not true full synthetic).

Mark you have now tempted fate and your engine will die!:lol:

bob the builder

shroom

would it be easier to buy a short block to get you on your way? as i know good cranks are hard to come by

sounds like you have been having some good fun :) reguardless hope you get it back and running soon

P

pulsarboby

basically its a bottom half engine complete so you just bolt your head onto it